Management Group of Research

Tasks of the Management Group of Research are determined in the Regulations of the University of Oulu, section 11:

“To support management, a vice rector establishes a management team which is composed of the deans of the faculties for which the vice rector is responsible and any other persons appointed by the vice rector.”

Members of the Management Group of Research are the Vice Rector of Research (chair), Deans of the Faculties and Directors of the Focus Area Units.


Members of the Management Group of Research (1.1.2016 - 31.12.2017)


Vice Rector for Research Taina Pihlajaniemi


Oulu School of Architecture (OSA):
Dean Rainer Mahlamäki (personal substitute Education Dean Matti Sanaksenaho)

Faculty of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine (FBMM):
Dean Peppi Karppinen (personal substitute Education Dean Tuomo Glumoff)

Faculty of Humanities (FHum):
Dean Paula Rossi (personal substitute Education Dean Harri Mantila)

Oulu Mining School (OMS):
Dean Juha Pekka Lunkka (personal substitute Education Dean Eero Hanski)

Faculty of Education (FEdu):
Dean Riitta-Liisa Korkeamäki 31.3.2016, from 1.4.2016 Dean Eila Estola (personal substitute Education Dean Jyrki Komulainen)

Faculty of Science (FSci):
Dean Maarit Järvenpää (personal substitute Education Dean Matti Alatalo)

Faculty of Medicine (FMed):
Dean Kyösti Oikarinen (personal substitute Education Dean Jyrki Mäkelä)

Oulu Business School (OBS):
Dean Mikko Puhakka (personal substitute Education Dean Pauliina Ulkuniemi)

Faculty of Technology (FTech):
Dean Riitta Keiski (personal substitute Education Dean Juha Tanskanen)

Faculty of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering (ITEE):
Dean Jukka Riekki (personal substitute Education Dean Petri Pulli)

University of Oulu Graduate School UniOGS:
Dean Markku Juntti

Biocenter Oulu:
Scientific Director Johanna Myllyharju

Director Pentti Haddington

Infotech Oulu:
Scientific Director Timo Rahkonen

Thule Institute:
Director Bjørn Kløve

Research Coordinator Aija Ryyppö

Additional information:
Vice Rector for Research Taina Pihlajaniemi (taina.pihlajaniemi @, p. +358 2 94 485800
Research Coordinator Aija Ryyppö (aija.ryyppo @, p. +358 2 94 484161

Last updated: 8.9.2017